Blog Tour: The Little Village Bakery – Tilly Tennant

The-Little-Village-Bakery-Blog-Tour-Graphic

Welcome to The Little Village Bakery blog tour!

I kindly received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to both Kim Nash at Bookoture and the author. 

About the Book:The-Little-Village-Bakery-Kindle

Published: 15th June 2016 (Bookoture)

Help yourself to a generous slice of Victoria sponge, a perfect cup of tea and a big dollop of romance. Welcome to the Little Village Bakery.

Meet Millie. Heartbreak has forced her to make a new start and when she arrives at the old bakery in the little village of Honeybourne she is determined that this will be her home sweet home. Her imagination has been captured by the tumbledown bakery but with no running water and dust everywhere, her cosy idea of making cakes in a rural idyll quickly crumbles.

Luckily the locals are a friendly bunch and step in to help Millie. One in particular, Dylan, a laid-back lothario, soon captures her attention.

But just as Millie is beginning to settle in, an unexpected visitor from her past suddenly turns up determined to ruin everything for her. It’s time for Millie to face the skeletons in her closet if she’s going to live the dream of running her little village bakery, and her blossoming romance with Dylan.

A charming heartwarming novel about love, life and new beginnings perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Debbie Johnson.

My Review:

The Little Village Bakery is centred around Millie, a newcomer to the wonderful little village of Honeybourne, who has purchased the local run-down bakery without seeing it or having it surveyed so is quite unprepared for the amount of work that it will need to get it back into working order. As it is a small community Millie soon meets Jasmine and Rich Green, a local couple with triplets who both run their own businesses following an inheritance from Jasmine’s deceased parents. It also doesn’t take long for Dylan’s interest to be pricked by the pretty newcomer, Dylan is Jasmine’s brother who is living off his inherentance rather than putting it to practical use, much to Jasmine’s dismay. Dylan is also a bit of a ladies man!

It is clear from the outset that Millie is running away from her past however it takes a while for the secrets to come out, influenced by the arrival of someone she would really not see. However Millie isn’t the only one with secrets, Spencer, the local teacher, and Dylan clearly have some unresolved conflict whilst appearing to be acquaintances to strangers.

I loved this book, Tennant has written a story which is a thoroughly enjoyable, light-hearted summer read (perfect for the holidays!) which has hidden depths. The way in which the burden of secrets is conveyed is great, I had to kept reading to find out what Millie was running from and exactly what was with Spencer and Dylan!

Honeybourne sounds quite an idiylic place to live, even with the ‘helpful’ neighbours who are always cropping up. Ruth lives next door to the bakery and unfortunately doesn’t seem to realise when she has outstayed her welcome! There is a real community spirit in Honeybourne which is welcoming of the newcomer, this terrifies Millie even more in case the truth comes out. The Little Village Bakery is more than a romance novel; it’s about new beginnings, new lives, new friendships and most of all, being able to let go of the past in order to move on.

A fantastic read with both humorous and serious elements interwoven – this is the first book I have read from Tilly Tennant, I look forward to reading more from her and the Christmas Honeybourne instalment.

About the author:

23776_1435621208482_8239110_nTilly Tennant was born in Dorset, the oldest of four children, but now lives in Staffordshire with a family of her own. After years of dismal and disastrous jobs, including paper plate stacking, shop girl, newspaper promotions and waitressing (she never could carry a bowl of soup without spilling a bit), she decided to indulge her passion for the written word by embarking on a degree in English and creative writing, graduating in 2009 with first class honours. She wrote her first novel in 2007 during her first summer break at university and has not stopped writing since. She also works as a freelance fiction editor, and considers herself very lucky that this enables her to read many wonderful books before the rest of the world gets them.

Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook | Website

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Little Village Bakery – Tilly Tennant

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s