Zero – Matt Brolly

Zero blog tour 3 (2).jpg

Welcome to my stop on the Zero blog tour!

About the book

Published: 21st November 2016 (Canelo)512kemdwfcl

No crime will go unpunished

It is the near future. A zero tolerance policy results in the death penalty for all crimes, no matter how minor.

When a judge is kidnapped, and a ransom note demands the release of all prisoners awaiting execution, kleptomaniac Detective Inspector Kate Swanson is put on the case.

But soon her boss also disappears. Under increasing pressure from her superiors, and caught between the security services and the growing social unrest, Swanson must race to find a man whose murdered wife and daughter link the missing men.

Can she find him before it’s too late?

With a dystopian twist on the police procedural, Zero is an unputdownable and atmospheric thriller. The first in a powerful new series from Matt Brolly for fans of Angela Marsons and Robert Bryndza or Minority Report and Blade Runner.

Look out for the new DCI Lambert coming early 2017.

My Review

Matt Brolly is a new author to me however I have heard fabulous reviews from fellow bloggers about Brolly’s DCI Michael Lambert series, Dead Eyed and Dead Lucky so I was looking forward to Zero.

Zero is a slight change in approach from the Lambert series as this is a police procedural with a dystopian twist, set in a city divided into sectors and ruled by zero tolerance (or ZT). Basically any breach of the law results in a death sentence, regardless of its materiality. The convicted are confined in pods that glide above the city for 30 days, however after 8 days the water supply is cut off…no one has ever survived the pods. So traumatic is the experience is there is a suicide button that can be pressed but the pod inhabitant from day 8 so they can end their own suffering – makes you wonder why people still continued to break the law when the outcome was a horrendous forgone conclusion which was paraded to all that lived there!!

Zero throws the reader straight into the action whereby Judge Lloyd disappears and Inspector Kate Swanson is assigned to the case, alongside Sergeant Joseph Keane. Judge Lloyd has condemned many individuals to the pods  during his career so there are suspects everywhere! Judge Lloyd is a creature of habit therefore his absence is noticed very quickly by his personal assistant, Sarah Natal, but also made Old Blue’s life a bit easier in kidnapping him given his predictable routine!

I warmed to Swanson straight away as she really wants to make a difference, to change things from the inside but is increasingly feeling frustrated by the constraints of ZT – possibly explains her desire to steal things, to rebel against the system! Its interesting learning about her past and how this has shaped her into the person she is today, and also brings home the enormity of ZT, the pods and the effect on the family left behind.

Brolly’s writing is great and fast paced, creating a dystopian world that isn’t too ‘out there’, I’m not a big fan of dystopian however the realism of this book drew me in and I enjoyed the investigation!

Massive thanks to Canelo for my copy of Zero.

About Matt Brolly

matt_brolly-2e16d0ba-fill-300x300Following his law degree where he developed an interest in criminal law, Matt completed his Masters in Creative Writing at Glasgow University. He reads widely across all genres, and lives in London with his wife and their two young children.

Twitter | Website | FacebookGoodreads

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s