Six Stories – Matt Wesolowski


I am thrilled that it is my stop on the blog tour for the fabulous Six Stories alongside the equally fabulous Ronnie Turner

About Six Stories

Published: 20th December 2016 (Orenda Books)SIX STORIES BF AW.indd

1997. Scarclaw Fell. The body of teenager Tom Jeffries is found at an outward bound centre. Verdict? Misadventure. But not everyone is convinced. And the truth of what happened in the beautiful but eerie fell is locked in the memories of the tight-knit group of friends who embarked on that fateful trip, and the flimsy testimony of those living nearby. 2017. Enter elusive investigative journalist Scott King, whose podcast examinations of complicated cases have rivalled the success of Serial, with his concealed identity making him a cult internet figure. In a series of six interviews, King attempts to work out how the dynamics of a group of idle teenagers conspired with the sinister legends surrounding the fell to result in Jeffries’ mysterious death. And who’s to blame … As every interview unveils a new revelation, you’ll be forced to work out for yourself how Tom Jeffries died, and who is telling the truth. A chilling, unpredictable and startling thriller, Six Stories is also a classic murder mystery with a modern twist, and a devastating ending. FOR FANS OF SERIAL

My Review

I knew from the blurb that this book had an interesting style however it wasn’t until I started reading that I realised how unique this book truly is. Six Stories is, as anticipated from it’s title, told from six different points of views but what gives it an interesting twist is that these stories are forming podcasts.

The blurb states that this book is for fans of Serial, for those unfamiliar (like me!) with Serial, the below synopsis is taken from the Serial website

Serial is a podcast from the creators of This American Life, hosted by Sarah Koenig. Serial tells one story—a true story—over the course of a season. Each season, we follow a plot and characters wherever they take us. We won’t know what happens at the end until we get there, not long before you get there with us. Each week we bring you the next chapter in the story, so it’s important to listen to the episodes in order. For more information on how to listen, click here.

The podcasts are designed to give the facts of the disappearance of Tom Jeffries back in 1997 at Scarclaw Fell during a camping/outward bound trip in order for the listeners to form their own opinion on what happened. The book, and the podcasts, open with the interview with Henry Ramsey who, alongside a group of friends, found Tom’s body. Scott King, the investigative journalist behind the podcasts, is very sensitive in his interview but Henry still has reservations about dragging up the past and awakening memories of the events.

Six Stories is so chilling and Scarclaw Fell is one creepy place to visit! There are points where I wasn’t sure that I wanted to read on as the tension was immense but just had to keep going to find out what happens! This book is so atmospheric and terrifying – I can imagine that this is one of those books that will work extremely well on the big screen as one of the most terrifying parts is the not knowing! At times my heart was beating faster with anticipation as to what was happening.

This is a brilliantly woven plot, the podcasts giving a different voice throughout the narrative alongside Henry in the present day dealing with the demons he still carries from the property that has been passed onto him. The unravelling of the events leading up to Tom’s disappearance is fantastically plotted out with depth and fear! I cannot believe that this is a debut but can completely understand why Wesolowski won the Pitch Perfect competition at Bloody Scotland Crime Writing Festival in 2015 and I cannot wait for his second novel.

About Matt Wesolowski

image001Matt Wesolowski is an author from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne in the UK. He is an English tutor and leads Cuckoo Young Writers creative writing workshops for young people in association with New Writing North. Matt started his writing career in horror and his short horror fiction has been published in Ethereal Tales magazine, Midnight Movie Creature Feature anthology, 22 More Quick Shivers anthology and many more. His debut novella The Black Land, a horror set on the Northumberland coast, was published in 2013 and a new novella set in the forests of Sweden will be available shortly. Matt was a winner of the Pitch Perfect competition at Bloody Scotland Crime Writing Festival in 2015. He is currently working on his second crime novel Ashes, which involves black metal and Icelandic sorcery.

Twitter | Goodreads



7 thoughts on “Six Stories – Matt Wesolowski

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s