Lie To Me – Jess Ryder

Lie to Me - Blog Tour

About the book header 

Published: 19th April 2017 (Bookouture)LIE-TO-ME-Kindle

How can you tell the truth… if all you’ve ever known is a lie?

Three minutes. That’s all it takes for Meredith’s entire world to fall apart when she watches the videotape of her four-year-old self with Becca, the mother who abandoned her.

Meredith can’t believe what her eyes have seen. Yet what if her memory has locked away the painful reality of her childhood? Can there be any truth in the strange and dangerous story her mother forced her to tell on camera?

The search for answers leads Meredith to Darkwater Pool, the scene of the murder of a young woman, Cara, over 30 years ago. What could possibly be the link between her mother and the victim?

To find the truth Meredith must search through a past that is not her own. The problem is, she’s not the only one looking…

A dark, compulsive psychological thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Louise Jensen.

Amazon UKAmazon US

My Review

A great example of a psychological thriller based on lies, as the title suggests!

Meredith is helping her father clear out their family home ready for his relocation to Suffolk when she finds a video with her name on. Her father tries his best to prevent her from watching it – its clear that he’s spent years trying to find that video in order to destroy it. However Meredith is adamant that she wants to watch it – and what she finds, her four-year-old self with her estranged (presumed dead) mother, changes everything.

Meredith is shocked by the actions on the video and becomes drawn into the investigation into the murder of a young woman, Cara, 30 years ago. What ensues is a narrative that flits between the present day with Meredith’s search for the truth and her estranged mother, Becca, and the early 1980’s with Cara and Isobel – friends from college who are trying to find their way in life and making some bad decisions along the way.

Meredith shares the video with her high-flying police officer ex-boyfriend who also becomes involved in the cold case of Cara as no one has ever been convicted of her murder.

Ryder uses alternative first person narrative to move along the plot so we hear different accounts of what is happening in both time frames which builds the tension because the reader already knows that Cara was brutally murdered – but why and by whom….and how is Meredith involved? So many questions!

An enjoyable thriller investigating the effect of lies both at the time and in the future – and how once you start to lie, the lies just have to keep on coming to keep up appearances!

About the Author

Jess Ryder Author PhotoJess Ryder is the pseudonym of Jan Page, author, screenwriter, playwright and award-winning television producer. After many years working in children’s media, she has recently embarked on a life of crime. Writing, that is. So she’s very excited about the publication of her debut thriller Lie to Me. Her other big love is making pots.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

happy-reading-signature-transparent

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Lie To Me – Jess Ryder

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s