Blood Sisters – Jane Corry

About the book header

Published: 29th June 2017 (Penguin)51aU5ZjzrkL

THREE LITTLE GIRLS SET OFF TO SCHOOL ONE SUNNY MORNING. 

WITHIN AN HOUR, ONE OF THEM IS DEAD.

From the author of the 2016 bestseller MY HUSBAND’S WIFE, comes a spine-tingling psychological suspense about two sisters bound by a deadly secret, for fans of Liane Moriarty and B A Paris.

Two women. Two versions of the truth.

Kitty lives in a care home. She can’t speak properly, and she has no memory of the accident that put her here. At least that’s the story she’s sticking to.

Art teacher Alison looks fine on the surface. But the surface is a lie. When a job in a prison comes up she decides to take it – this is her chance to finally make things right.

But someone is watching Kitty and Alison.

Someone who wants revenge for what happened that sunny morning in May.

And only another life will do…

My Review

Blood Sisters is Jane Corry’s second novel, I really enjoyed My Husband’s Wife so I was looking forward to reading this.

Blood Sisters is told from two differing perspectives. First we have Kitty, her story is told through her thoughts as she is unable to speak other than unrecognisable sounds. Kitty is in a care home but she has no recollection as to what caused her disabilities….however she starts to have flashbacks that she struggles to piece together. Kitty is extremely frustrated with being trapped in her body that doesn’t react as it should and not being able to communicate what is fully articulate in her head. Alongside the narrative, this is also difficult reading because of the reality that this must be for many people – the frustration of not being able to communicate as you once could.

The other side of the story is Alison’s, on the face of it she’s doing fine but inside she is a mess; haunted by the accident on that sunny morning in May which has ended in very different ways for the 3 girls involved. Alison is hiding behind her art, which was actually her sister’s forté; Alison was the academic one whereas Kitty was the creative one. In an attempt to make amends, as well as earn some well needed money, Alison gets a job in an open prison helping prisoners to rehabilitate and prepare them for a life outside of the confines and routine of prison through art therapy. Alison meets some interesting characters in the prison but, understandably, finds it difficult to know who to trust.

Corry shares both the present day and the past relationship of the sisters, they had a particularly strained relationship because they were chalk and cheese, they fought like sisters do but Alison is devastated as to how Kitty has been injured yet she was able to walk away unscathed, physically anyway. So much so she cannot face seeing her in the care home.

Blood Sisters is a cleverly plotted out narrative and I thoroughly enjoyed the dual perspective of this book. I really felt Kitty’s frustrations through her inability to effectively communicate and people assuming, incorrectly at times, what she meant or felt. Alison quite frankly needed a shake at times! The sisters are still very different, and not just because of the accident, and this is beautifully brought to life through Corry’s writing.

Once again, this is a chunky thriller at over 400 pages but it is all relevant to the story, there is never a dull moment and the book just keeps drawing you in all the way to the end. I love Corry’s writing style and the way in which she structures her stories…I look forward to book 3!

About the Author

Jane Corry is a writer and journalist who has written regularly for numerous newspapers and magazines including The Daily Telegraph Weekend section, the Mail on Sunday and Woman. She has spent time working as the writer-in-residence of a high security prison for men – an experience that helped inspire My Husband’s Wife, her début thriller. ‘I love twists and turns that keep the reader guessing until the very end! My husband says I’m a nightmare to watch dramas with as I love to work out who did it before the final revelation!’

You can find Jane on Twitter at @JaneCorryAuthor and on Facebook at JaneCorryAuthor.

Jane runs regular writing workshops and speaks at literary festivals all over the world, including The Women’s Fiction Festival in Matera, Italy. Until her recent move to Devon, she was a tutor in creative writing at Oxford University. She is also an associate member of the Royal Literary Fund.

Many of Jane’s ideas come during her morning dog-jog along the beach followed by a dip in her wetsuit. (She’s an all-year-round swimmer provided the sea isn’t dangerous.) Jane also loves tennis, walking, reading, yoga, the ‘Quiet’ train carriage (a great ‘office’ for writing) and her family. She’s still coming to terms with being an empty-nester but makes up for it with lots of long-distance nagging! Jane’s second husband was a bachelor family friend who is also Godfather to her children. He makes her laugh every day although they can’t agree on how to load the dishwasher!

happy-reading-signature-transparent


Blood Sisters Blog Tour

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Blood Sisters – Jane Corry

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s