About Us – Jon Rance

IMG_0025

I am absolutely thrilled to welcome Jon Rance back to Have Books blog following the recent publication of About Us!

Guest Post

This is the story of Rosie and Pete. From the beginning until the end.

Hello! I’m very excited to be here as part of my blog tour for, About Us. Thanks so much Clair for having me. This is the last few days for this blog tour, so let’s crack on, shall we.

About Us, is the story of Rosie Willis and her husband, Pete. It’s a dramatic comedy about a marriage. About how it begins and how it ends. I had a few inspirations for this book. After my last novel, Dan And Nat Got Married, which I loved writing, I wanted to do something a little different. Dan And Nat, was a pure romantic comedy and I knew after that I wanted to write something bigger, more emotional. When I started thinking about my new book, two things came to mind. The first was the novel, One Day, and the second was the television show, Outnumbered. Let me explain.

Let me start with One Day. It’s a novel I’ve read a few times and I love it. One of the reasons I love it, is that it covers such a long period of time. You get to see a whole relationship from their first night together right up until the end. I love that idea and it’s something I haven’t done before. I knew I didn’t want to write another One Day. But I did love the idea of telling the story of a whole relationship.

Secondly, the TV show, Outnumbered. I’ve watched this show a few times, but I watched every episode right before I started, About Us. What I love about, Outnumbered, is the family dynamic, the quirky kids, and the fact it’s so funny but real. I sort of knew I’d love to write something like Outnumbered that featured a family with all of its problems, issues, and idiosyncrasies. So I had these two things in my mind. The story of a relationship from the beginning until the end and the story of a family. Thus, About Us, became my sixth novel. I think it’s a book that’s funny, serious, dramatic, but really holds a mirror up to most of our lives in some way. One of the most heartwarming and pleasant things about reading the reviews has been the number of people who have said just that. It’s a story about all of us. It’s in many ways a simple story about life, about marriage, parenting, death, love, having children and watching them grow up, and about following our dreams. I think people find it so relatable because essentially a story trying to find happiness and that’s something we’re all trying to do.

About Us, is a dramatic comedy about life, about love, about us, and it’s out now exclusively on Amazon. Grab your copy now for just 99p for a limited time!

About the book header

Published: 22nd August 2017

It’s about life. It’s about love. It’s about us.IMG_0166

HILARIOUS AND HEARTBREAKING.

From the bestselling author of Sunday Dinners and Dan And Nat Got Married, comes a bittersweet comedy about a marriage, about how it begins, how it falls apart, and the choices we’re forced to make. Perfect for fans of David Nicholls, Jojo Moyes, and Mike Gayle.

Rosie Willis isn’t happy. Her once perfect marriage to husband, Pete, is falling apart, her mother is dying, and her three children are starting to feel like strangers. At forty she feels like she’s stuck, but then she meets handsome widower, Mark Hornby, at the school gates and he makes her feel alive again.

As she drifts further from Pete, she gets closer to Mark, but approaching Christmas she realises she needs to try to save her marriage and keep her family together. Despite her feelings, she can’t have an affair. Unfortunately, Pete has news of his own that throws everything into doubt.

Rosie must choose a new life. There’s Pete, Mark, or going it alone. It isn’t easy when you’re forty, when you have three kids, when you feel past it, when your mother is dying, but life isn’t meant to be easy.

About the Authorheadshot-5
Jon Rance is the author of four novels: the Kindle top ten bestseller, This Thirtysomething Life, Happy Endings (both published by Hodder and Stoughton), This Family Life and Sunday Dinners. He’s also the author of the short story prequel, This Twentysomething Life and the Christmas novella, A Notting Hill Christmas. His fifth novel, Dan And Nat Got Married, will be published this October.

Jon studied English Literature at Middlesex University, London, before going travelling and meeting his American wife in Australia. Jon loves comedy (especially sitcoms), the films of Richard Curtis, travelling and tea. He just turned forty, which is a terrifying time, so his books might get a bit edgier and possibly angrier as a result.

Jon writes dramatic, romantic, comedy fiction similar to the work of Mike Gayle, Matt Dunn, Nick Spalding and David Nicholls.

Please visit his website: http://www.jonrance.co.uk

Follow him on Twitter: @JRance75

happy-reading-signature-transparent

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s