The Missing Girls – Carol Wyer

About the book header

Published: 14th September 2017 (Bookouture) 51AIC7RE9cL

One girl found dead. Another girl gone…

Long shadows danced on the tin walls. Inside the trunk lay Carrie Miller, wrapped in plastic, arms folded across her ribcage, lips sealed tight forever…

When a girl’s body is found at a Midlands storage unit, it is too decomposed for Detective Robyn Carter to read the signs left by the killer.

No one knows the woman in blue who rented the unit; her hire van can’t be traced. But as the leads run dry another body is uncovered. This time the killer’s distinctive mark is plain to see, and matching scratches on the first victim’s skeleton make Robyn suspect she’s searching for a serial-killer.

As Robyn closes in on the killer’s shocking hunting ground, another girl goes missing, and this time it’s someone close to her own heart.

Robyn can’t lose another loved one. Can she find the sickest individual she has ever faced, before it’s too late?

An utterly gripping and darkly compelling detective thriller that will have fans of Robert Dugoni, Angela Marsons and James Patterson hooked from the very start. You will not guess the ending!

My Review

Now I do love a good serial killer read – and this is a fantastic serial killer read!

The Missing Girls is the third book in the Detective Robyn Carter series but can, most definitely, be read as a stand alone. I’ve not read the first two books (they are waiting on the kindle to be read….the story of my TBR!) but had no issues with this one. There are references to the past which may feature in the previous books but the author gives enough background as to not exclude new readers. I really enjoyed this book so will be going back to read books one and two…..and waiting for book four with baited breath.

The book opens as it means to go on with a chilling introduction to Amber who is in pain, disorientated but knows that something isn’t right about her surroundings. Throughout the book, we are introduced to other young girls who are in similar danger – these snippets into their lives is terrifying but brilliant at building the tension that is in bucket loads throughout this book.

Carter and the team have a new supervisor in the form of Flint, who clearly does things differently to Carter but also knows that she delivers so there is some conflict in their approaches to the case. Carter has a great team around her who all have their own strengths and bring their own individuality to the team. But even with this fabulous team, this case is proving difficult as there are no clues, no leads. The first body is found by accident in a storage unit – in a trunk, delivered by a woman in a van who has the cheek to ask two kind gentleman to carry the trunk to her unit – yet no one knows who this woman is. You can really feel the frustration of the team trying to solve the case and prevent any more young girls needlessly dying at the hands of this deranged serial killer.

This is a brilliant story, full of twists and turns, and features relevant themes – social media, dating apps and cyber bullying which creates a damn good read! This book is being pitched for fans of Angela Marsons and James Patterson which is right on the nose – I am a massive fan of Kim Stone and Alex Cross….and now Robyn Carter!

Highly recommended!

About the Author

Carol WyerAs a child Carol Wyer was always moving, and relied on humour to fit in at new schools. A funny short story won her popularity, planting the seed of becoming a writer. Her career spans dry cleaning, running a language teaching company, and boxercise coaching. Now writing full-time, Carol has several books published by Safkhet and journalism in many magazines.

Carol won The People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction (2015), and can sometimes be found performing her stand-up comedy routine Laugh While You Still Have Teeth.

Little Girl Lost, the first book in the Detective Robyn Carter crime thriller series came out in January 2017.

Facebook | Twitter  | Instagram | Website

happy-reading-signature-transparent


The Missing Girls - Blog Tour

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “The Missing Girls – Carol Wyer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s