A Cosy Candlelit Christmas – Tilly Tennant

About the book header

All singleton Isla wants for Christmas is to be left in peace, but a surprise trip to theA-Cosy-Candlelit-Christmas-Kindle.jpg Alps means there’s a chance for romance in every snowflake that falls…

It’s the week before Christmas and Isla McCoy has just received an unexpected gift: a letter announcing she is due a life-changing inheritance, but only if she’s willing to make amends with the father who abandoned her.

She has absolutely no intention of forgiving him, but who could resist an all-expenses-paid trip to the French resort of St Martin-de-Belleville?

There she meets smooth-talking Justin and nerdy glaciologist Sebastian; two very different men, with two very different agendas. Torn between her head and her heart, Isla finds herself utterly lost in a winter wonderland of her own feelings.

Surrounded by twinkling candles and roaring log-fires, Isla’s resolve finally begins to melt. But will she learn how to reconnect, not only with a whole new family, but with herself and her heart?

A gorgeously heart-warming festive read to help spark a little romance in those long winter nights. Perfect for fans of Jane Linfoot, Debbie Johnson and Jenny Colgan.

Amazon UK | Amazon US

A Cosy Candlelit Christmas was published on the 26th October 2017 by Bookouture. Many thanks to Bookouture for having me on the blog tour and providing me with my copy of the book via NetGalley for this review.

My Review

A Cosy Candlelit Christmas is the second book in the An Unforgettable Christmas series and whilst I believe that this could be read as a standalone, I think that it is better read after A Very Vintage Christmas. Both of a books feature Dodie and Isla however A Very Vintage Christmas focuses on Dodie and A Cosy Candlelit Christmas focuses on Isla. Whilst the first book is focusing on Dodie, Isla does feature and vice versa for the second book. It was great to see the events from both Dodie and Isla’s perspectives.

In book one, we are briefly aware that Isla has been found by a lawyer due to the reading of her grandmother’s will. In A Cosy Candlelit Christmas we pick up with Isla when she decides to travel out to the Alps against her mother’s wishes to find out what her inheritance is and to meet the father that she practically knows nothing about. Ian left Glory when Isla was five years old without a trace – Isla’s mother is still very bitter about the desertion and therefore is upset with Isla’s decision to travel to France.

The resort of St-Martin-de-Belleville is a beautiful setting for this book and Tilly Tennant does a fabulous job of describing the landscape – the use of a glaciologist character to articulate this landscape further was genius! In England, the hope of a white Christmas is just that so it is fabulous to escape into this book as there is, literally, tons of snow!

There are wonderful characters within this book, Isla herself is jaded by her opinion of her father inherited from her mother and we really see the turmoil within Isla between honouring her mother’s opinion and making her own opinion of her father. During her visit to St-Martin-de-Belleville, she meets the wonderful hotelier Dahlia who goes the extra mile for all her guests and happy to be a sounding board for any issues. Then we have the lovely Seb (the glaciologist!) who is in St-Martin-de-Belleville working and the arrogant Justin, Isla’s cousin (by marriage) who offers to bridge the gap between Isla and her father.

A Cosy Candlelit Christmas isn’t as traditionally festive as A Very Vintage Christmas however it is a heartwarming read with the backdrop of Christmas, exploring broken relationships with a bit of romance thrown in – a fabulous combination!

About the Author

23776_1435621208482_8239110_n

Tilly Tennant was born in Dorset, the oldest of four children, but now lives in Staffordshire with a family of her own. After years of dismal and disastrous jobs, including paper plate stacking, shop girl, newspaper promotions and waitressing (she never could carry a bowl of soup without spilling a bit), she decided to indulge her passion for the written word by embarking on a degree in English and creative writing. She wrote a novel in 2007 during her first summer break at university and has not stopped writing since. She also works as a freelance fiction editor, and considers herself very lucky that this enables her to read many wonderful books before the rest of the world gets them.

Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn was her debut novel; published in 2014 it was an Amazon bestseller in both the UK and Australia. In 2016 she signed to the hugely successful Bookouture and is currently working on her tenth Tilly Tennant novel. She also writes as Sharon Sant, where she explores the darker side of life, and Poppy Galbraith, where things get a little crazier.

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Website

happy-reading-signature-transparent


A Cosy Candlelit Christmas - Blog Blitz

Advertisements

One thought on “A Cosy Candlelit Christmas – Tilly Tennant

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s