Hell To Pay – Rachel Amphlett

Hell To Pay Banner

About the book header

When a road traffic accident on a dark autumn night uncovers a disturbing conspiracy,Hell to Pay Cover LARGE EBOOK Detective Sergeant Kay Hunter’s investigation exposes a ruthless serial killer exploiting vulnerable young women.

With her enemies unmasked and her career spiralling out of control, Kay’s determination to seek vengeance for the victims brings her dangerously close to those who want to silence her.

Undeterred, she uncovers the real reason behind a plot to destroy her career and sets in motion a terrifying chain of events.

Could Kay’s need for revenge be her undoing, or will she survive to see justice served?

Hell to Pay is a gripping fast paced crime thriller, and the fourth in the Detective Kay Hunter series:

  1. SCARED TO DEATH
  2. WILL TO LIVE
  3. ONE TO WATCH
  4. HELL TO PAY

A page-turning whodunit for fans of Peter Robinson, David Baldacci and James Patterson.

Hell To Pay is published today by Saxon Publishing. Thank you to the author for having me on the blog tour and providing me with my copy of the book for this review.

My Review

I absolutely love this series and Hell To Pay certainly is a wonderful fourth instalment. I would recommend reading the first 3 books so you understand the back stories and previous investigations however it’s fair to say that this could be read as a stand-alone as Rachel Amphlett provides enough back story for new readers.

Hell To Pay opens with a traffic accident whereby the driver is in a critical condition however the body of young woman is found in the boot. In order to attempt to save the driver’s life it means that lots of people have walked through the crime scene making it difficult from the outset. Throughout the series, Kay Hunter has been fighting a Professional Standards Investigation whereby it’s clear someone is trying to ruin her career – these pieces start to come together in this book making the ensuing investigation, triggered by this discovery, very personal for Hunter however will this put her in more danger?

Once again, Rachel Amphlett has written a brilliantly fast paced and complex investigation that keeps the reader turning the pages to find out what happens next. Kay Hunter is one of my favourite fictional detectives as she is a great leader, strong and conscientious – she is a great role model for her team and as such has a strong team around her. Despite their differences in personalities, the team is cohesive and work together brilliantly.

In Hell To Pay, the author deals with a very difficult and emotive subject (I’m being deliberately vague, you’ll need to read the book to find out what I’m talking about!). Rachel Amphlett deals with this sensitively whilst also raising awareness of the realities of this scenario outside of this fictional story.

Another wonder investigation for Kay and her team – more fabulous writing from Rachel Amphlett!! Highly recommended (as are all books in this series!).

About the Author

rachel-2016-2141Rachel Amphlett is the bestselling author of the Dan Taylor espionage novels and the new Detective Kay Hunter series, as well as a number of standalone crime thrillers.

Originally from the UK and currently based in Brisbane, Australia, Rachel’s novels appeal to a worldwide audience, and have been compared to Robert Ludlum, Lee Child and Michael Crichton.

She is a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association, with the Italian foreign rights for her debut novel, White Gold, being sold to Fanucci Editore’s TIMECrime imprint in 2014, and the first four books in the Dan Taylor espionage series contracted to Germany’s Luzifer Verlag in 2017.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

happy-reading-signature-transparent

Advertisements

One thought on “Hell To Pay – Rachel Amphlett

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s