Random Acts of Kindness – Part 1: Promises – Victoria Walters

About the book header

Published: 4th December 2017 (Simon & Schuster UK)Random Acts of Kindness 1 - Promises

Escape to the beautiful town of Littlewood with Part 1 in an exciting new serial from Victoria Walters! Perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Holly Hepburn and Jo Thomas.

Welcome to Littlewood, a small town community with a big heart… 
Abbie has fled London and the humiliation of not being able to make rent after being made redundant. Louise, unlucky in love, has thrown herself into her career at the local hospital. And Eszter, who has travelled from Hungary with her daughter Zoe, hopes to fulfill her husband’s dying wish… to reunite his family.

Can a little bit of kindness really change your life? Three very different women are about to find out when they make a promise to be kinder to others and to themselves…

My Review

Victoria Walters debut novel, The Second Love Of My Life was one of my top reads of 2016 therefore I was so excited to discover that new work was one its way in the form of a four part series, Random Acts of Kindness. As such, all four books were immediately on pre-order!

In part one, we are introduced to sisters Abbie and Louise. Abbie has fled London after being made redundant and is heading to stay with her sister temporarily in Littlewood whilst she job hunts and gets back on her feet. Louise is very different to her sister, she loves the sleepy town feel of Littlewood where she ended up after running away from heartbreak. I absolutely loved the dynamic between the sisters right from the outset.

Abbie arrives in Littlewood before her sister so heads to the local café for a coffee – whilst there she bumps into Eszter and her daughter Zoe and it is in this café that she discovers the kindness project Littlewood has whereby you pass on random acts of kindness – this is an alien concept to Abbie after living in London! As the book blurb states – can a little bit of kindness really change your life?

Random Acts of Kindness: Promises may be a quick read at around 83 pages but it has depth and well developed characters and location (Littlewood and its stately home sound just wonderful!).

I had high expectations after The Second Love Of My Life and its short story prequel The Summer I Met You and this first part to a new series did not disappoint!

Part two is out now, part three is out on the 2nd April and part four is out on the 4th June – look out for my reviews!

About the Author

Victoria WaltersVictoria Walters has always loved creating stories. Her first book was handwritten when she was sixteen years old, and was closely modelled on the Sweet Valley High series. Victoria works as a Waterstones bookseller, mostly to get a discount on books. She lives in Surrey with her cat Harry (named after Harry Potter, not Harry Styles).

Her debut novel THE SECOND LOVE OF MY LIFE was published in 2016 and was chosen for WHSmith Fresh Talent and shortlisted for an RNA award. Victoria was also picked as an Amazon Rising Star. Victoria has written a new novel called Random Acts Of Kindness, which is being published as a four-serial.

As well as being obsessed with books, Victoria is addicted to buying slogan tops, mugs and notebooks, and posting on Instagram.

Twitter | Instagram | Website | Amazon Author Page | Goodreads



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s