The Pact – S.E. Lynes

About the book header

You made a promise to your sister. It could destroy your The Pact coverdaughter.

The Daughter
15-year-old Rosie lies in hospital fighting for her life. She’s trying to tell her mother what happened to her, and how she got there, but she can’t speak the words out loud.

The Mother
Rosie’s mother Toni has a secret. She had a traumatic childhood, and she and her sister Bridget made each other a promise thirty years ago: that they could never speak the truth about what they went through as children, and that they would protect each other without asking for help from others, no matter what…

Rosie was Toni’s second chance to get things right: a happy, talented girl with her whole life ahead of her. Having lost her husband in a tragic accident, Toni has dedicated her life to keeping Rosie safe from harm.

But Rosie has plans that her mother doesn’t know about. She has dreams and ambitions – of love, of a career, of a life beyond the sheltered existence that her mother has created for her. But the secrets Rosie has been keeping have now put her life in danger.

The Pact
In order to save Rosie, Toni may have to break her lifelong promise to her sister… and open doors to her past she hoped would remain closed forever.

The Pact is a chilling psychological thriller about the lies we will tell to save our children. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Apple Tree Yard and The Sister.

The Pact was published on the 27th February 2018 by Bookouture. Many thanks to Bookouture for having me on the blog tour and providing me with my copy of the book via NetGalley for this review.

My Review

S.E. Lynes already has written two successful psychological thrillers, Valentina and Mother but has, in my opinion gone one better with The Pact! I absolutely devoured this book – it was uncomfortable reading and completely compelling in equal measures!

I’m not going to say too much about the plot (no spoilers here!) to allow it to unfold for itself but suffice to say that this book is most definitely living up to it’s ‘gripping psychological thriller’ strapline.

In The Pact we hear from three different voices; 15-year-old Rosie, her mother Toni and Toni’s sister, Bridget. Each of the characters tell the story from their own perspectives in alternating chapters meaning the reader gets an insight into events from all sides….and an insight into their secrets!

Once again, I was drawn in immediately with the authors wonderful narrative style, the characters all have a distinct voice which means the reader doesn’t get confused with the different chapters. I really liked Rosie, she is just a normal young teenager trying to grow up far too quickly and struggling with her mother’s protectiveness.

Alongside the events within this book that keep the reader in suspense, The Pact is also a story about love and relationships – Rosie lost her father at a very young age, Toni is trying to be both roles for Rosie and protect her from harm which is coming across as being overbearing. Alongside mother and daughter, there is Bridget who is dedicated to her sister and niece – the bond between these three is explored beautifully throughout this book.

A relatively short review from me this time, but this is no reflection on the book..I LOVED it, instead I don’t want to say too much in case I inadvertently give anything away and spoil it. You’ll need to trust me on how good this book is and find out the plot for yourself 🙂

Another 5 star read from S.E. Lynes! Highly recommended.

About the Author

SELynesAfter graduating from Leeds University, S E Lynes lived in London before moving to Aberdeen to be with her husband. In Aberdeen, she worked as a producer at BBC Radio Scotland before moving with her husband and two young children to Rome. There, she began to write while her children attended nursery. After the birth of her third child and upon her return to the UK, she gained an MA in Creative Writing from Kingston University. She now combines writing with lecturing at Richmond Adult Community College and bringing up her three children. She lives in Teddington.

Facebook | Twitter

happy-reading-signature-transparent


Blog Tour Poster

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s