Now You See – Max Manning

Max manning blog tour.jpg

About the book header

Will you look her in the eyes, just before she dies? A 9781472251558terrifying crime thriller that will set your pulse pounding. Perfect for fans of M. J. Arlidge, Robert Bryndza, and Angela Marsons.

On the streets of London, a vicious killer is using social media to turn murder into entertainment . . .

I, Killer has posted two photos of his first victim online – Before Death and After Death. They’ve gone viral before DCI Fenton’s team even discovers the body.

Soon, another victim’s photo is similarly posted . . . and so begins the killer’s following.

DCI Fenton is determined to discover the identity of I, Killer before another innocent life is claimed. Then the case takes a dark turn, and Fenton’s search becomes a matter of life or death for him and his young daughter.

But as I, Killer’s body-count rises, his number of online followers is growing – and he loves to give his fans what they want . . .

Now You See was published on the 19th April 2018 in paperback by Wildfire. Many thanks to the publisher for having me on this blog tour and for my copy of the book. 

My Review

Now You See is being pitched as being perfect for fans of M. J. Arlidge, Robert Bryndza and Angela Marsons – well that was good enough for me however it meant that it had a lot to live up to. I pleased to say that it does – I thoroughly enjoyed this debut police procedural featuring Dan Fenton.

Now You See grabs it’s reader from the outset with a chillingly scary prologue told from the perspective of an unknown female who is terrified. The reader doesn’t know what has brought her to this situation, who her tormentor is or his reasons for his actions but what we do understand is that this is not going to turn out well.

The world certainly looks different through the eyes of a killer. #IKiller

Before the body is even found, a post from a self proclaimed ‘I, Killer’ goes viral on social media – featuring the before death and after death photos of a young woman. DCI Fenton is alerted to the post via email from the killer with a link to his handiwork – shortly afterwards the body is found and an investigation is underway in full force.

The victim is Lauren, ex-girlfriend of Adam Blake who used to be a journalist. Blake is  enlisted by Leah, Lauren’s sister, to find the killer as she can see that they are running rings around the police and she wants answers – this sets up an interesting dynamic between Fenton and Blake, kind of working together with a common goal.

The book is told mainly from the point of view of those who are trying to track down the #IKiller, however every so often throughout the book, we get an insight into the killer’s mind through their own thoughts – one psychopathic and disturbed individual to say the least!

I enjoyed this debut, having a police procedural with focus split between the police investigation and a journalist certainly gave this an interesting slant. Whilst Fenton is a likeable character, it was Blake who stole the show for me. He is certainly troubled by his past experiences however he recognises that he needs to sort some things out in his mind, he also has a dry sense of humour that comes through mostly in his dealings with his downstairs neighbour!

Now You See is a solid read that is gripping from start to end, it is fast paced and highly relevant in respect of the killer using social media to build up their own notoriety. I look forward to reading more from Max Manning…hopefully featuring both Fenton and Blake 🙂

About the Author

Max-Manning-BWMax Manning is a former national newspaper journalist. He started his career as a news reporter on regional newspapers before moving on to Fleet Street. There he worked for several titles, including Today and the Daily Express. He later joined the staff of the Daily Telegraph where he worked for sixteen years as a news sub-editor. Now You See is his debut crime novel.

Twitter |

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s