The Cornish Village School: Breaking the Rules – Kitty Wilson

Blog Tour Header.png

About the book header

Following heartbreak, Rosy has rebuilt her life in the 51JynV0qE1Lbeautiful Cornish village of Penmenna. Now, headmistress of the local school, she is living by The Rule: no dating anyone in the village. Easy right? But Rosy Winter has a new neighbour, handsome gardener Matt.

In Penmenna for his new gardening TV show, this guy next door will do everything he can to persuade her to break her rule and win her heart. Meanwhile, Penmenna Village School is threatened with closure and it’s up to Rosy to rally the local community and #SaveOurSchool. Can she bring her worlds together and accept help from the most unlikely of sources? One thing’s for sure… she won’t be giving up without a fight.

This heartwarming romance is perfect for fans of Tilly Tennant, Holly Martin and A. L. Michael.

Guest Post

I’m thrilled to welcome Kitty Wilson to the blog today sharing her route to publication….thanks for stopping by Kitty 🙂

My route to publication was, like many writers, a long, long plod followed by a mad sprint. I have wanted to write ever since I was a little girl and remember writing lots of stories that involved three wishes or crazy missions. As I grew older I would dip in and out of writing, labouring over three chapters and a synopsis, sending them out, getting the rejection slip and then leaving it for a bit. My biggest success at that stage was a story I made up for the children about Archibald Grumpybottom, the tale of a baby dragon and his epic adventures. It received wild acclaim from its audience and plea’s for more – but they were both under five and fairly easy to please. That was my first experience of ‘pantstering’ (i.e making it up as you go along).

I was working as a Reception teacher and loving my job when I was hit by ill health, and after a bit of a battle had to give up working. Chronic illness meant I had become reliably unreliable with a very disobedient body that failed to respond to my head’s furious commands to keep working. After I made my peace with this, it occurred to me this was the golden opportunity to start writing again, if nothing else it was going to give me a focus and be something I loved doing. I just wasn’t sure what to write, where my natural voice was and how on earth one started.

Then one day I nipped to a friend’s house for a cup of tea and upon heading to the bathroom was warned to watch out for the chicken poo. This was so beautifully rural, real country living, and whilst it made me giggle it also made me wonder how you would react if you had returned to someone’s house after a date and were issued the same warning. I practically gulped my tea and raced out of the house, hit the keyboard the minute I got home and before I knew it the first scene of a romantic comedy was born. That scene became the first full book I wrote, and although unpublished, still makes me chortle. I had found my voice.

At a poetry critique group I was attending, I tentatively mentioned I had written a book and one of the women there was wonderfully supportive, offered to read my first three chapters and recommended the Romantic Novelists Association. I was lucky enough to gain entry onto their New Writers Scheme (a mind-blowingly brilliant scheme that really helps support new writers to publication) and now I had my voice and my tribe.

A couple of years and lots of words later, with the advice of RNA members in my ears, I wrote The Cornish Village School and started submitting it to agents and publishers and got the opportunity to pitch it at the RNA annual conference. Publishers were interested and asked for some changes, this was my first big step. I was beyond excited. I had always been told that the first step was standard rejections, next step was rejections but with personalised comments, then came constructive suggestions and then the final hurdle was acceptance, so to be receiving suggestions for this book was huge! A little later in the year I had a phone call from an agent saying she loved my writing style and I pitched her the book I was working on at that time and she asked me to send over as soon as it was done. This phone call was taken in the bath, and then involved me hopping around the landing in a towel shouting all manner of things whilst being very grateful that she couldn’t see.

Shortly after, I had an email from a publisher saying they wanted The Cornish Village School. I was so excited I ran to a neighbour’s sobbing with joy and clutching my laptop. As someone who doesn’t often sob they assumed a family member had died – I was that emotional.

Following advice from my RNA friends, I took that deal to my dream agent who immediately read the book and signed me up, giving me a choice of publishers to go with. I chose Canelo, I had heard great things about them, and The Cornish Village School – Breaking The Rules became a real life book and the first in of a whole series set around the village of Penmenna.

Getting published is a long, hard slog and whilst you have to have the talent to write, tenacity is also key, but with both those things writing dreams can, and do, come true.

About the Author

Kitty WilsonKitty Wilson has lived in Cornwall for the last twenty-five years having been dragged there, against her will, as a stroppy teen. She is now remarkably grateful to her parents for their foresight and wisdom – and that her own children aren’t as hideous. She spends most of her time welded to the keyboard or hiding out at the beach and has a penchant for very loud music, equally loud dresses and romantic heroines who speak their mind.

Twitter

happy-reading-signature-transparent


Cornish Village School Blog Banner (3).png

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s