I Know You – Erik Therme | @ErikTherme @Bookouture

‘I can help you save your sister. But I need something from you …’

Sisters Bree and Alissa Walker share a special bond. Neglected by their parents, they have always looked out for one another. But one day, sixteen-year-old Alissa goes missing. When Bree discovers her green backpack with all her belongings, abandoned on the steps of their run-down trailer, she knows that something bad has happened …

Then she receives a chilling text message. Someone has Alissa. But Bree will have to give up something very precious in exchange.

Desperate to save Alissa, Bree looks at everyone close to their family. She’s sure that Alissa’s best friend is keeping something back about her little sister and a boy at school, and why has their estranged uncle, who they’ve not seen in years, been hanging around again?

It soon becomes clear that the person behind the message knows a lot about the dark truths within the Walker family and will go to any lengths to get revenge. And as the search for Alissa continues, Bree discovers something about her brother Tyler that she wishes she hadn’t, a dangerous secret, which is also the key to bringing her little sister back home …

A gripping and addictive thriller about family secrets and lies and the lengths people will go to protect them. Perfect for fans of Teresa Driscoll and Louise Jensen.

I Know You was published on the 12th April 2019 by Bookouture. Many thanks to the publisher for my copy of the book via NetGalley and for having me on this blog tour.

I Know You is centred around the dysfunctional Walker family. In the short prologue, the reader learns what they need to know about the father and his terrifying rule over the family.

When the reader moves into the main story, Bree, the eldest sibling, has just got home from work and is absolutely exhausted as she is literally working all the hours possible to keep the family afloat. However, whatever rest Bree thought she might get after her shift was abruptly ruled out when she received a chilling text about her younger sister, Alissa.

I must say, Therme throws his reader straight into the action – after a brilliant prologue that sets the tone of the family – Bree is on a short timeframe to save her sister which involves needing to reconnect with certain members of her family.

I Know You is a fast read (and I’m not referring to the length of the book) because it pulls its reader in right from the start and the tension does not lift until the very last pages. With short, action filled chapters, is it very easily to lose yourself in the story and be half way through the book before you know it!

Bree is a strong character in this book…certainly not someone I would want to mess with!! She’s lived a life where she’s had to be strong and look after her younger siblings, particularly Alissa so when her safety is jeopardised, Bree is taking no prisoners and won’t leave any stone unturned in order to get her sister back.

I Know You isn’t just a thriller, it’s also a book about family – the bonds that are between siblings even if they don’t like each other too much because of history. I really enjoyed witnessing the dynamics between Bree and other members of the family.

I also really liked Liz’s character – Liz is Alissa’s best friend who is determined to help Bree in her search for Alissa, much to Bree’s annoyance! Liz really doesn’t take no for an answer and actually is of use to Bree – her determination for her best friend is commendable.

I Know You is an enjoyable, fast-paced gripping thriller!

Erik Therme has thrashed in garage bands, inadvertently harbored runaways, and met Darth Vader. When he’s not at his computer, he can be found cheering for his youngest daughter’s volleyball team, or watching horror movies with his seventeen-year-old. He currently resides in Iowa City, Iowa—one of only twenty places in the world UNESCO has certified as a City of Literature.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s